I have noticed that a lot of incoming students starting this year have found the site and created their own accounts in CampusGroups. We will soon be uploading the incoming students into the system, creating the accounts we want them to use. What effect will this have on the accounts they have already created? We want them to be able to keep the groups they have joined (in the account they created), but have the information (Graduation Year, Student Type, Account Expiration Date) from the account that we create for them.
Will the account they created be merged into the one we create because they are using the same email address and login information?
Exactly. The student's Account, Activity, and Membership will remain untouched. Only their basic profile information will be overwritten by the information you upload for them.